February 9, 2024 – Following the announcement of their upcoming album Ohio Players (out April 5 via Nonesuch/Warner Records), The Black Keys have debuted the second track off the album – a rendition of William Bell’s “I Forgot To Be Your Lover” – that features the band’s good friends Tommy Brenneck and Kelly Finnigan. This track, available now on all streaming platforms, maintains the momentum The Black Keys started with the album’s lead single “Beautiful People (Stay High).” Listen to “I Forgot To Be Your Lover” here and watch the lyric video here. Pre-order Ohio Players here.

The reimagined song joins the original tracks on an album unlike any of the band’s others, featuring collaborations among the band’s Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney and various additional friends and colleagues, including Beck, Noel Gallagher, Greg Kurstin, and others.Earlier this week, The Black Keys were announced as performers for the 8th annual Love Rocks NYC benefit concert as well as performers for the NASCAR Chicago Street Race in Grant Park.The Black Keys were recently announced as SXSW Music Festival performers. This addition follows the announcement that Auerbach and Carney will be partaking in a special keynote as well as premiering their new documentary This is a Film About The Black Keys during the festival. The documentary traces Auerbach’s and Carney’s remarkable journey from two neighborhood kids jamming in a basement in Ohio to rock ‘n roll superstardom.


About The Black Keys:Formed in Akron, Ohio in 2001, The Black Keys are singer/guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney. Last year, the duo received two Grammy nominations for their eleventh studio album Dropout Boogie. The Black Keys have been called “rock royalty” by the Associated Press and “one of the best rock ‘n’ roll bands on the planet” by Uncut. Cutting their teeth playing small clubs, the band has gone on to sell out arena tours and has released eleven previous studio albums: the debut The Big Come Up (2002), followed by Thickfreakness (2003) and Rubber Factory (2004), along with their releases on Nonesuch Records: Magic Potion (2006), Attack & Release (2008), Brothers (2010), El Camino (2011), Turn Blue (2014), “Let’s Rock” (2019), Delta Kream (2021), and Dropout Boogie (2022). The band has won six Grammy Awards and a BRIT and headlined festivals in North America, South America, Mexico, Australia, and Europe.